Glasgow-the end

My flight back to Dublin wasn’t until after 7pm on Monday night, which meant I had to leave Jacob’s around 5pm, so I had the whole day ahead of me. Jacob had school so I was on my own today, which wasn’t a problem at all. I had a little bit of catching up to do in the morning, checking emails and such. Also, I needed to pack up and organize all my stuff for my flight home. Later in the morning I decided to go for a walk along the river down to the Riverside museum, because once again, free. Just think of all the knowledge I gained this weekend visiting all these historic sights and museums! (Read that again if you ever questioned that study abroad students don’t learn).

When I first got into the museum it was great. I basically had the entire place to myself. The main room was full of old cars, bikes, trams, trains and other vehicles. As I was reading about some old taxi cab I heard the distinctive screams of a class trip, but with Scottish accents. Sure accents make kids sound cuter, but when there’s 50 of them, it’s no longer cute. I did my best to check out all I wanted to see in the main room, but eventually drifted off to the less interactive, less child-friendly areas. My area of interest was this model ship display which had probably 50+ model ships that floated on a track system down this massive glass wall. I spent a good half hour just looking at model boats (#typical). Before going back outside to look at the tall ship. Luckily you could tour the tall ship, and there weren’t any unsupervised children in sight. Don’t get me wrong, I love love loooovve kids, but not that many all at once. I toured all parts of the ship until I ended up in the depths of the hull where there was a little video area that I had to myself. I got comfortable and way to invested in a historical video of the life on tall ships ad after what felt like an hour I had to pull myself out.

After checking out the engine room, quarters and the galley I peeked in the gift shop at some touristy knick knacks I didn’t need. That’s when I stumbled upon a book titled “50 Places to Sail Before you Die.” Of only 2 places in Canada, Northern Lake Huron and Georgian Bay (as 1 location) made the cut. Although there was no mention to my lovely little Tobermory, Manitoulin Island was the centre of the discussion. Not sure I totally agree with Manitoulin above other places in the nearby area, but I was still stoked to see my ‘home’ among the best 50 places in the world to sail.

Once I was finished I headed across the river to the Science Centre which was difficult to figure out. I couldn’t find the main entrance for the life of me, and ended up going through some side door thing. After looking around trying to find the actual museum part and employee came up to me seeing if I needed help finding anything. I just said I was looking for the museum in which they responded by saying the building was closed on Mondays. A little awkward, but oh well.

I decided I’d head back to Jacob’s place and take a quick nap, as I wasn’t going to be back at UL until close to 1am. My nap was awoken by an inspector who had to do flat checks, in which I just pretended it was my room and went with whatever he said.

At 5pm I headed back downtown with all my luggage and grabbed the bus to the airport. After going through security and such I discovered my flight back was also delayed by half an hour, which turned into 45 minutes. By the time I got to Dublin the bus I planned to take had left so I just grabbed the next bus which wasn’t for another 20 minutes. I didn’t get home until around 1:30am, and was I ever tired.

Overall, Scotland was amazing and I’d like to send a huge thank you to my wonderful friend Jacob who let me crash on the world’s thinnest couch (but very comfortable) and helping organize the entire weekend. You’re the best and I hope to see you sooner than later, ideally less than 3 years.

Leave a Reply

