Milk Market and Cliffs, oh my!

Hola once again,

Still a lot of catching up to do, but I’m working on it. better late than never so they say! This time I’m throwing it back to weekend 1, September 3 & 4th 2016. As part of our international orientation the school offered a free bus to the Milk Market in downtown Limerick. Since the word “free” gives me as much excitement as the word “Christmas” I was on board. I hopped on the bus with my new friend Sandra from Denmark (yes mom, I made friends) and head downtown.  One thing you’ll soon realize about me is that I love markets. At home I love hitting up the local markets, so here it is not much different. Actually it’s very different. The Milk Market itself was smaller than I expected, but good nonetheless. From savoury crepes, to handmade chocolate and cake balls, I basically ate my way through the market.

After the market we explored a bit of the city by foot. First we checked out the St. Mary’s Cathedral (one of many St. Mary’s Cathedrals) and King John’s Castle. Hopefully you all enjoy castles and old churches because there will be a lot of pictures of them to come.

Ok, now it’s Sunday. I booked a bus trip to the Cliffs of Moher for myself and a few other friends (if you’re counting I made more than one friend). I’d give myself a 10/10 for planning and organizing our very first trip on the very first weekend, but I don’t want to brag…too much. Our tour guide/bus driver, frank, was a hilarious older fella with a whole sleeve full of cheesy, but classic dad jokes about Ireland. The roads here are incredibly narrow and everyone drives them like it’s the Indy 500. Frank was a decent driver, although we did get hit by another bus driving to squeeze up the cliff. Yea, that’s how narrow it is.

We stopped at a few castle ruins and the Burren before the Cliffs of Moher, but the Cliffs were definitely the best part of the day. They are as phenomenal as everyone told me and pictures DO NOT do it justice. We spent a few hours hiking off trail on the cliffs and sending my mother photos of me sitting on the edge of a cliff 720ft/218m above sea level. I’m glad she didn’t die by panic attack.

All in all, I’d say it was a very successful weekend and a great way to kick off my semester in Ireland. The only problem is I’ve only had a taste of the country and I already know there is so much more to see!!

Leave a Reply

